Shopping Cart 0 Item (S)

Inspector George Gently Seasons 1-7 DVD


Availability: In Stock
Add to Cart:

  • Product Information of Inspector George Gently Seasons 1-7 DVD

    Actors: Peter Flannery,Martin Shaw
    Language: English
    Boxed Set: Yes    
    Number of discs: 23
    Condition: New    
    Region: Region Free    
    Weight: 1.5 kg
    Format: Support both NTSC & PAL    
    Rated: NR (Not Rated)    
    DVD Release Date: 2016

    Inspector George Gently Seasons 1-7 DVD

    Summary of Inspector George Gently Seasons 1-7 DVD

    Inspector George Gently (titled George Gently for the pilot and first series) is a British television series produced by Company Pictures for BBC One, set in the 1960s and loosely based on some of the 46 Inspector Gently novels written by Alan Hunter.The series features Martin Shaw as the eponymous Inspector (later Chief Inspector), Lee Ingleby as Detective Sergeant (later Detective Inspector) John Bacchus, and Simon Hubbard and Lisa McGrillis in supporting roles as police constables for the fictitious North East Police Constabulary.Inspector George Gently Seasons 1-7 moved the setting of the stories to North East England, centering on Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland and County Durham as opposed to the Norfolk portrayed in the books. As the series begins, the death penalty is still in effect in Britain and is used as a plot feature in some early episodes; the penalty was abolished in 1965, a change noted in the series. The earliest episodes are set in 1964 and the series progresses in approximately real time, with the closing scenes of series 7 taking place on 1 January 1970.